About KiLGA


KiLGA – “KiLGA” stands for the “Kiribati Local Government Association”. Its Kiribati name is “Aia Rabwata Kauntira”. KiLGA was formed in March 2012 by a resolution of the General Meeting of its members—the 23 Mayors, representing their Councils in Kiribati.

It was registered as an Incorporated Society No.07/12 on 31st March 2012. Beside being officially registered, KiLGA is recognized by government as the NGO responsible for providing support to Councils and assisting with good governance in Kiribati.



Policies, Values and Guiding Principles
The following policies, principles and values will be pursed and used in the work and services undertaken by the KiLGA.
1 The KiLGA objectives will be articulated, implemented, monitored and evaluated at strategic times.
2 The KiLGA will work in alignment with the Kiribati Government laws and Councils’ legislations.
3 Accuracy, efficient use of resources, timeliness, accountability, democracy, governance, universality and customer/client satisfaction will be pursed.
4 Information collection, storage, application, retrieval, sharing and display using appropriate internationally-accepted ICT standards, will be applied.
5 Respect for and appreciation of donor partners is important and deserve responsible use and timely reporting of their grants.

6 Rights of children and women are important in the work and programmes of the KiLGA.

7 Sustainable development that promotes the importance of environmental and cultural factors, including Climate Change and the vulnerability of atoll environments is necessary in the work of the KiLGA.

8 Sound and skillful financial management of Councils and KiLGA resources as prerequisites to development shall be pursued.

9 Good staff are critical to the success of the Councils and KiLGA and as such, staff capacity building shall be given due priority.


KiLGA was formally established when its Constitution was adopted by the General Assembly of its members in March, 2012.
Download the KiLGA’s Constitution


 KiLGA’s Strategic Plan

The Strategic Plan details potential activities to be undertaken by KiLGA in its first three years of operation. The Strategic Plan is built upon the 7 major objectives contained in the KiLGA’s Constitution.

The Strategic Plan is a result of collective work by many people over the years. It was first drafted by the Mayors’ Mini-forum of October 2011. Later it was reviewed and further developed by a team comprising staff of the KiLGA office and two ARIAL consultants, Taakei Taoaba and Bruce Davidson during a work-meeting in Tarawa, from 27 February to 2nd March, 2012. The team made extensive use of the Kiribati Local Government Project Concept Note, developed by Taakei Taoaba in 2011 and the 2011-2013 Kiribati Local Government Development Plan, developed by Bruce Davidson for CLGF Pacific, in August, 2010.

The activities have been selected with the aim that they are relevant, achievable and affordable.

The Strategic Plan was reviewed and approved by the first General Meeting of KiLGA held at the Nimanraoi Mwaneba, Betio from 20-21 March, 2012.

This KiLGA Strategic Plan will be useful to not only KiLGA but donor and other partners as well. It is also a requirement of ARIAL Programme in providing funding support to establish and sustain KiLGA.

Acknowledgement is made to the ARIAL Programme and its consortium partners, VNG International, CLGF and FSPI, who provided financial, technical and other assistance in the drafting process of this Plan.


1. KiLGA’s Strategic Plan 2012-2014
2. KiLGA SP 2016-2020 FINAL and approved by MGM3 Revised 2017

Our Structure

The General Meeting (GM) of members, which meets biennially, is the highest authority of the KiLGA. The GM approves the Constitution and any regulation from time to time, which dictate the operations of KiLGA.

The Executive Board, comprising the Chairperson and three members representing the three districts, who are elected by the General Meeting, has the executive functions with powers to implement all decisions of the GM.

The Executive Officer, is responsible for the day to day operations of KiLGA. He is selected by the Executive Board and endorsed by the AGM. He is assisted by a Financial & Administrative Officer and other staff as may be recruited from time to time.

 The General Meeting


The General Meeting, the supreme decision making authority of the Association meets biennially. All members are obliged to pay for their own participation but the Secretariat may seek funding assistance to pay for the air fare of members.


 Board Members (2012)
Members of the Executive Board were elected by the General Meeting and have a term of two with a chance to go for re-election. The first members of the Executive Board elected by the first General Meeting of March 2012 are Romano Reo, (Chairperson), Tokia Greig, Tebau Iakoba and Teuarai Tion. (Photos and brief bio are given below.)
Romano Reo, (47), is the Chairman of KiLGA, and the Mayor for BTC. He attended KGV&EBS for his secondary education and then studied at Queensland University of Technology where he graduated with a Bachelor’s Degree in Surveying and Graduate Certificate in Business Administration. He is currently the Chief Land Surveyor with the Ministry of Environment, Lands and Agricultural Development besides being Mayor, to which he was elected in 2008. Mr. Reo is an active member of the Kiribati Protestant Church. Romano Reo
Tokia Greig is member of the Executive Board for the Central District. The Mayor for Tarawa Urban Council was first elected as a Councilor in 2008, the same year he was elected Mayor. Prior to that he has held various senior posts in the government as an Administrative Officer and CEO. His last position in the Public Service was the CEO of the Pubic Utilities Board that runs the electricity, water and sewerage services for the whole of Tarawa island from Betio to North Tarawa. Tokia Greig
Teuarai Tion, (47), represents the Southern District on the Executive Board. He is the Mayor for the island of Onotoa. He was born on Onotoa on 18 February, 1965. He was educated at the Onotoa Primary from 1970 to 1979 and later continued his education at the Location Primary School in Nauru from 1979-1983. He become a Councilor and then Mayor on 18 September, 2008. Prior to that he was a Mechanic with the Civil section of the MPWU where he spent five years. After that he joined the PVU as a Mechanic. He belongs to the KPC Church. Teuarai Tion
Tebau Iakoba, (65), is a member of the Executive Board representing the Northern District. He is Mayor for Marakei, first elected Councilor and Mayor in August 2008. Tebau was educated at the St. John Bosco Primary in Betio in 1959 and at St. Joseph’s College in Tabwiroa from 1960 to 1963. In 1979, he attended the Kiribati Teachers College in Bikenibeu and became a Primary School teacher working in several schools and colleges in Kiribati. Prior to becoming a Councilor, he was the Language and Cultural Instructor for the Peace Corps Volunteer Kiribati Programme. He’s a Catholic by faith who likes reading as a hobby. Tebau Iakoba


The Management Team
The KiLGA Office, based at the BTC Office complex in Betio is manned by only two officers.
Rikiaua Takeke is the Executive Officer, with good experience in Local Government. He was educated at the University of the South Pacific where he attained a Diploma in Education (1982) and an MBA (2001). He is 52 and has five children. Riki
Rae Bainteiti, is the Financial and Administrative Officer who joined the KiLGA office in February 2012. He was educated at the Fiji National University where he graduated with a Diploma in Accounting (2011). He is 22. Rae

 Members of the KiLGA’s Executive Board

Hit Counter provided by orange county divorce attorney